Squash

Aw, that title sort of gives it away, doesn’t it? Cabbage soup got boring very quickly. Very very very… But on my great veggie run I also bought a spaghetti squash and an acorn squash. Spaghetti squash is old news probably, but what a clever substitute for pasta. (Unless you remember pasta…) But what a clever invention. A big yellow football filled with spaghetti.

Acorn squash was a staple for many years. Cut in half, baked and then smothered in apple sauce. Hot, cold, squashy, sweet. For tonight’s meal, i topped it off with a pile of asparagus. Healthy. And now I feel very very very… hungry. I want meat. Of course, it’s 12 hours after dinner and i’m still up. Working. I sometimes sit here aimlessly flipping through piles of work. But tonight I made a list. 21 jobs to do. And I’ll be damned if I didn’t immediately get up and go cook. (“Cook?”) But when the feast was over, I pushed aside my plate and knocked off 10 of the 21. That’ll be my new motto “Almost half.” (and what a weight goal…)

Okay, I’m tired. But if i lie down, i’m not getting up. and i have to be downtown in two and a half hours. (the writing style degenerates quickly into the all lower case mush of emailese. Quick – throw in a photo.

Later, kids.

Actually, no one knows about this blog, so for the time being, it’s safe. just a food record. ‘Cause I sure don’t want to write about the Quaker Oats guy who’s running for prez. Or winky. Or the crashing economy. Instead of assigning us each $2500 in debt for this $700 billion dollar bailout, why don’t they just send each person $2500? Matching funds. Jeez, I was feeling so good about eating well. Well-er, anyway. And this crap just turns it all sour. Crooks.

SONOFABITCH

You need an I Love My Nation tee shirt. At least one. Go to nationltd.com and get one.

Leave a Reply

