The Camel’s Back

I’m going to Egypt in a few weeks. A trip with my mom that’s been in the works for over a year. Except for family stuff (which i certainly don’t discount), this will be my first vacation since i took a three-day trip to Ensenada back in 2000 or 2001. Swordfish sandwiches… the beach… Okay… and hearts weekends… But this is pure vacation. Cruise down the Nile, see the Pyramids, hang out with my Mom for a couple weeks.

Oh, and ride a camel. jimonacamel. Camel races around the sphinx. The Great Sphinx of Geezer. Unless… If there’s a weight limit, I might be screwed. And, of course, I’ve known this was coming for over a year. So, I’ve been trying to exercise, lose weight and generally get in shape for about six hours now. Thought about it a lot. I don’t want to be the guy who broke the camel’s back. And I really don’t want a camel pissed off at me.

So, I’m back to cabbage soup. Maybe that’s ill-named. There is cabbage, but also every other vegetable I saw & liked at the store. Green beans, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, carrots, leeks, onions. And other stuff I can’t recall at the moment. If I can stick to it for a few weeks, I could probably compete in the Olympics this winter. This is so not fun, writing about my weight. I am not the guy in the mirror. So, I’ll switch to a photo. The up side. The attempt to do right. Cabbage soup.

Oh. And I bought more kale. I’ll be damned if some stupid mistake is going to ruin my day.

2 Responses to The Camel’s Back

  1. bev says:

    Hello, How was the trip to Egypt? I too have the same concern..although I do have several monthes to get rid of some of this weight I am still worried about a weight limit on the camels. How did you do and is there a limit and how much. Hope all went well for you, it is a shame to do something so special and let our size ruin it all!! i would really appreciate a responce as I am worried big time . Thanks in advance, Bev Please respond by way of my enclosed e-mail tks

    • justdean says:

      i didn’t see your email, so i’m writing here. The trip was fantastic. Weight on the camel was not a problem.

Leave a Reply

